Fred Hughes  


Buy at iTunes  - Buy at - Buy at









From Dave Brubeck to Johann Sebastion Bach and Chick Corea to Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky; Matrix, the 8th release by the Fred Hughes Trio and the 3rd recording for ShoreThing Records, visually and aurally demonstrates the dictionary's definition of matrix. The concept for the recording comes from two performances the Trio presented. The first was titled: A Tribute to the Great Jazz Pianists. The second: Some of Our Favorite Composers are Pianists - The Music of Johann Sebastian Bach, Chick Corea, Bill Evans, George Gershwin, Herbie Hancock, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Fats Waller and more.


With the inclusion of the classical composers Bach and Tchaikovsky, the first concert title was not going to work as a title for the recording and the second, too long. As other titles were considered, including the tunes on the recording, and rough concepts for the artwork discussed; one of the tunes on the recording, Chick Corea's Matrix, stood out as a great choice. After all, as the dictionary definition states: "Something within or from which something else originates, develops, or takes form."


Music has continued to develop from all types of forms, the programs that yielded the choices heard on this recording all came from other concerts, and the great artwork from graphic artist John Langton stemmed from these instructions: "How does an album title of Matrix with the composers Johann Sebastian Bach, Dave Brubeck, Chick Corea, Bill Evans, George Gershwin, Herbie Hancock, Horace Silver, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky .... look to you? I was thinking along the lines of a mathematical formula, but I'll leave that to you."


The Fred Hughes Trio's matrix has been developing for twenty seven years having originated in the jazz clubs of Washington, DC. With Fred Hughes on piano, the current Trio features Amy Shook on bass and Frank Russo on drums. Matrix is the 8th release for this critically acclaimed group. Previous recordings include: I'll Be Home For Christmas (2015), Love Letters (2015), In The Mist (2012), New Day Dawning (2006), No Turning Back (2001), Live! (1998) and Out of the Blue (1996).